Saving a new field I added to "customer registration form" with my module on customer creation

Hello!

I represent a team of a developer and a content manager. We are using PrestaShop v1.7.4.4 to develop and support a shop for a client.

The context

My goal currently is adding a custom field to the customer registration form.
Customer should be able to fill the form as usual with option to specify their phone number.
The phone should be saved somewhere in the database, preferably in it's own table with a key pointing to a row in customers table.
I'd also like to see that information in the back office somewhere.

There seem to be a couple modules I found that would work for this purpose.

Registration Fields
Custom Fields Module
Both of them are priced the same (€39). That's pretty expensive for us as we've bought an entire theme for this shop and it costed us €70 already, as a developer I'd rather write my own module.
The first one comes from a website I'm not sure I can trust, second seems to be the official prestashop addons marketplace, but the compatibility goes up to prestashop v1.6.1.23.

So another option would be to use a quick solution like modifying the core file as described in this tutorial ADDITIONAL FIELDS FOR REGISTRATION FORM PRESTASHOP 1.7 

I will probably take this route as the last resort.

So far my choice is to create a module for this purpose, and I've had some progress with this.

What I did

Used module generator as described in the docs Modules > Getting started
    this provided me with a working module template I could upload to the shop and see in the module list, nice starting point!
Added 'additionalCustomerFormFields' hook to display my new field in the form
    another successful step, the field is displayed as expected
Added 'validateCustomerFormFields' hook to validate it
    using ->addError method results in visible error on the form so it's working too

The issue