Reprogram Product display

silversurfer5150

Hey there,

I am in the process of customising prestashop for a business idea I am on top of its structure but I am a little confused of how to design something I have in mind so I will describe it:

I have a product which when chosen by a customer must check the database and present not only the product itself but also several different price plans(stored as separate products).

They must be stored separately for checkout purposes because they have different prices even tho they are the same product.

I want the user to be able to select each price plan (with a separate button) and then present that variation on the same page, replacing the current product. This therefore takes place before the checkout on the product info page.

I am aware of how to change page presentation using AJAX or JQuery etc but I have very little experience of using php with AJAX and I want to design the most efficient solution. I don't want to have to go into the database twice etc. I am a good programmer but my background is in electronics therefore I have little experience of these sorts of designs. I have all these ideas atm like passing variables to php using JQuery or using XAJAX and I'd really appreciate a little guidance.

There was another idea I had which meant altering the diplay product (tick or cross) in the admin area using a post variable from the products page but I cannot access the admin classes, it keeps compaining that there is No such file or directory. :(

Ok so I have explored all of your links, thanks again and I am aware of how SOAP and REST works. I have enabled web services in the back office and have created one for products with GET , PUT, POST and DELETE enabled. It inists that I create an encryption key. NOt sure why? Any ideas?

Also in the forum link the guy tests the GET request by typing : http://localhost/prestashop14/api/products