Newsletter Subscription Confirmation

ruaridhc

I've got the newsletter module working well, with emails being sent when a person subscribes. However, I'm wondering how I might have the email contain a link that requires the subscriber to click it to CONFIRM that they wish to subscribe.

I'm concerned that it is too easy for someone to type a 3rd parties email address in the subscription block, and then they are listed on our newsletter subscription list. Most other sites I've seen require a confirmation.

I've never done this before, so i'm not even sure how I'd start to investigate it.

Thanks in advan

I am interested in a feature like this also... I was going to post a thread about this, but glad you beat me to the punch.

Although, I am looking for something slightly different... I think a confirmation link for newsletter subscriptions might not convert too well. In my opinion, I think less people will actually go through the extra step of confirming their subscription even it they were the ones who signed up for it. I think it would be a good idea to include a "Unsubscribe" link within each (and every) email sent using the newsletter module... so those who receive emails that they they didn't sign up for can unsubscribe, and those who actually signed up still receive emails without having to complete an extra step.

Any help on an "unsubscribe" link within the emails would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1 month later...
I am interested in a feature like this also... I was going to post a thread about this, but glad you beat me to the punch.