Prestashop 1.6 or 1.7 advice?

LadyLionheart

Hi guys,

I'm new to prestashop and moving over from oscommerce. My webshop is terribly outdated and needs renewing and prestashop seems like a good fit. I've now installed 1.7 to play around with a bit and I really like all of the options and how versatile it is. 

However my payment provider (multisafepay) does not have a module out yet for 1.7, and this is a serious problem. However I also don't want to build a site in 1.6 if I can not easily convert it later, and be stuck with the same problem I have now, to have to build another webshop.

Also it seems Prestashop theme maker is a handy tool, can anyone tell me if it is worth the money? I don't need a really 'busy' looking webshop. And themes seem to be kind of expensive, even though often they only seem to change the main page of the webshop.

• 2 weeks later...

I installed 1.7.0.4 a few days ago and started to build the site. but just like you, my payment provider doesn't have a module for 1.7. Furthermore even paypal official module is not ready yet. 

That's why I decided to go for 1.6.1.1. and no regret.

Hi guys,

I'm new to prestashop and moving over from oscommerce. My webshop is terribly outdated and needs renewing and prestashop seems like a good fit. I've now installed 1.7 to play around with a bit and I really like all of the options and how versatile it is.

However my payment provider (multisafepay) does not have a module out yet for 1.7, and this is a serious problem. However I also don't want to build a site in 1.6 if I can not easily convert it later, and be stuck with the same problem I have now, to have to build another webshop.

Also it seems Prestashop theme maker is a handy tool, can anyone tell me if it is worth the money? I don't need a really 'busy' looking webshop. And themes seem to be kind of expensive, even though often they only seem to change the main page of the webshop.