Re-doing a shop from scratch..

tallinn

Hi.

I am having trouble with setting up a local version of a shop I am managing. This is a shop that has been managed by some IT people and they were doing a marginal job so the owner decided to try something new. That is where I come in. I have no experience in PrestaShop but am eager to learn.

I have an open post about the troubles I am having setting up the local development environment and it is causing headache. Specially since the problems I am having are being reported in the live version as well. So the other day I wondered if re-doing the whole shop would be a viable option. That is what this post is for. 

So my plan is to install a new instance of the PrestaShop onto my local machine. Import the minimal amount of data into the sql server. Install the minimum amount of modules (preferably non to begin with). And then take it from there. Sounds easy :)

Is there anything I am missing? Is it a harder task than I assume it is? 

The goal of this: 

I am new to PrestaShop. I would like to get my hands dirty with everything involved in starting a PrestaShop and maintaining it.

The website is currently pretty unstable and there are some complaints from customers about that. I would like to fix that.

Cheers!

Hi.

You're doing well installing a new one instead of repairing a damaged one.
You cand find for sure modules that allows you to import data from a prestashop to another. (If you dont, i cant sent you a module that i did for myself).

As you said, try to import as less as you can. Just prestashop data, dont import the configuration of the shop or module's configurations.
Edited by Gabriel Perez (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Hello,

Few tips from me.

Remember to always have PS_MODE_DEV enabled for your develop environment.

In config/defines.inc.php

define('_PS_MODE_DEV_', true);