Send email to the products Manufacturer or Supplier only, not all merchants

AriT

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to PrestaShop and OOP and would appreciate some help.

I am trying to write a override to the mailalerts module to be able to send a notification email to either the supplier or the manufacturer of the product which is ordered.

I know you can add a merchant email but the problem is that we will have many different manufacturers and suppliers from which the customer can order directly and I don't want to send everyone the email only the specific Supplier/manufacturer.

So far I made overrides for MailAlerts.php and mailalerts.php in a mailalerts folder, deleted cache and it all works fine.

In the MailAlert.php override I'm trying to use the product-id to first get either the supplier_id or the manufacturer_id and then use that to go to address database to get the correct email (I made a custom field for that and that all works fine)

First problem is here....... how do I echo out the variables I created here to see if that it actually makes the call to the database and get the right values?

I have tried :

$Mail = new Mail ();

$Mail->manufacturer_mails;
$Mail->supplier_mails;
---- nothing -because it needs the product_id, I think?

also tried echo'ing from within the class and even tried making a function but I'm not sure how to call that function so ....still... nothing.

Second problem:
I then went and modified alerts.php and basically copied everything that was done to merchants_mails to try and get it to work here...mainly because I have very little idea of how this is supposed to be....

I did manage to echo out the variables from the __construct functions and it does give me the merchant_mails but my $manufacturer_mails and $supplier_mails are empty.

At the moment or before I started messing everything up the code would run but gives me a:
Fatal error: Undefined class constant 'TYPE_TEXT' in /blah blah/site/classes/PaymentModule.php on line 506