Kiosk Mode for Point of Sale POS Project

I'm currently trying to adapt the existing software to run on in-store touch-screen kiosks. There would be two modes:

--Self-Serve Mode: In this scenario, a customer would be able to pay in cash local to a kiosk terminal.
--POS Terminal Mode: For store clerks and cashiers only. In this scenario, the employee enters their unique employee PIN number and authorizes removal of products from the catalog upon payment. The GUI would work in a customary fashion to existing POS terminals.

Although I am an expert with HTML and JavaScript/ActionScript, I'm only a beginner with CSS, PHP, and mySQL, but I'm learning quickly.

I just got started. If anyone is interested or if you can offer any help, please let me know!

All I need is a method to send and receive variables in either Flash and/or JavaScript.

I don't know enough about PHP to push and pull data to and from a database yet. I would like to be able to send form data directly to a PHP script but I don't really know where to begin.

• 2 weeks later...

Okay, so this isn't quite as easy as I thought it would be......

Again, I am new to PHP and I have a very limited understanding of how to interface with mySQL data.

Meanwhile, I have been doing some thinking about how the POS should work, and I've modeled the following real-time scenario:

--POS has a log-in screen, much like the admin page
--At the start of their shift, an employee logs-in using [email protected]
----Time of log-in recorded in the database
--Transaction begins with the addition/location of a customer account in the database
----If customer account doesn't exist, it can be added at that time
----This step can be bypassed by an administrative override: Administrator must validate their log-in info along with an optional description field
----Instance of a shopping cart object is constructed
--Each product is entered by its reference number: This will help facilitate barcode scanning