Prestashop 2 !

seb776

Hi,

I'm a freelance prestashop developer. I use it a lot, coding modules, making installation, migration and so on.

I also use php frameworks such as symfony, zend or laravel. I use/try lot of packages on github.

When I code for a prestashop (a module as example), there is lots of stuff I don't like, inconsistent api, impossibility to tests components, hard coupling, etc.

I have ideas, inspired from php frameworks, I'd like some design patterns to be used in Prestashop. Introducting this patterns  (repository, dependency injection, ...) and a new architecture (namespaces, use of composer, etc),  will make lots of breaking changes, so I this changes can not be introduced in prestashop 1.x . It deserve to be for the next major release of Prestashop.

This will be a lot of work (and maybe a full rewrite of Prestashop (?) ). So this can't be done in just one month, and there is developers' wishes, so they have to share needs, discuss about api, etc.

So I think the roadmap should have already be started. But there is none. I don't mean that Prestashop 2 release date should be planned, I mean discussion should began.

Don't you think we should start thinking about it ? Is it just an internal process ?
Edited by seb776 (see edit history)
  • Like 2

Hello Seb,

That's some really good questions. The discussion about PrestaShop 2 has been around for a few years - but it's not that time yet. PrestaShop is always committed to open source and its community, so when -and if- this project should start, contributors will be the first to know and will be part of the discussion/conception.

But right now, we're focusing on PrestaShop 1.6 and our new Cloud offer. We'll announce more of our roadmap in the coming weeks/months. That being say, when it comes to new patterns or architecture, I'll let Jérôme give you a preview of what is to come and how you may help us.

Thanks

• Like 2

Hello Seb,