How does ssl work with Cloud ?

cywc

Question

I am new to cloud based PrestaShop and fairly new to PS. I've been working on a self-hosted site with PS, so I've tried setting it up but haven't yet opened it. I wanted to try the cloud shop first to see if I liked it better before going live.

My question is about ssl certificates.

Since this is a form of shared hosting, do we need ssl certificates and can we run the prestashop without it on cloud ?

I ask because some of the payment systems I'm considering require a ssl certificate. I'm looking at Simplify, for instance.

If not, how will the buyer know the transmission is secure ?

I did not see this question asked yet, and hope I'm not repeating a question.

• Like 1

46 answers to this question

@ubergirl - so you're thinking we each have a dedicated ip address ? How do you know which one you have ?

I'm seeing that the ssl is turned on in my shop to as well as front office being more secure. That is not the case with my self hosted PS. I tried to turn it on without the dedicated ip and it went haywire. My self hosted shop was down an entire day due to some type of attack on the shared server, so I'm leaning toward PrestaCloud right now.

@ubergirl - so you're thinking we each have a dedicated ip address ? How do you know which one you have ?

I'm seeing that the ssl is turned on in my shop to as well as front office being more secure. That is not the case with my self hosted PS. I tried to turn it on without the dedicated ip and it went haywire. My self hosted shop was down an entire day due to some type of attack on the shared server, so I'm leaning toward PrestaCloud right now.

we don't have dedicated ip address.

you can find your ip on store details page

5ndjxrJ.png

if you will check it with reverse ip lookup tool:

http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/web-sites-on-web-server/

you will see that this ip hosts several pages.

• Like 1