Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Lizbit

<SOLVED> Deleting Products from Store

Recommended Posts

My products are downloadable images, so when I add a product, I'm uploading images (to the server) that are for sale.

When I delete products (images) from my store, will this also delete the photos from the SERVER? Or do I need to do some house keeping and delete the no-longer available photos from my server, as well?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good morning, thanks for the response.

So in answer to my question, when I delete products (which are actually images - it's a photography store), I need to go on the server and delete the images as well?

Seems when I looked at the photos on my server, they have different names. This will be fun to find/delete the correct ones!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You dont need to delete it, it would be replace with new photos....

And thumbnails names are a little bit same as original....

My original:

1281.jpg

My thumbnails:

1281-183.jpg
1281-183-home.jpg
1281-183-large.jpg
1281-183-medium.jpg
1281-183-small.jpg
1281-183-thickbox.jpg
1281-183-watermark.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess I am not totally understanding.....

I have a folder on my computer of images I want to sell, so I go into Prestashop BO, create a category for this particular event I took photos at. Then, I add product, and click "yes, it's downloadable." I browse to attach the photo to the product, etc. save, etc...

In a couple of months I want to remove that entire category (a sporting event) to make room for new photos. So, if I delete that particular category from my store, aren't the images (the photos I have to sell), still sitting somewhere on my server?

thanks again for trying to explain this to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, yes, you delete only "data" from database, but not from server.

Easy way is call your photos like "sportevent_xxxnumber.jpg" and on server, when you doesnt use this product, you know how they call and you can easy to delete it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fortunately, I learned early on about dating the photos - so it will be easy to locate them on the server when I want to remove them after deleting the categories. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Cookies ensure the smooth running of our services. Using these, you accept the use of cookies. Learn More