Jump to content

[MODULE] Las Twitter State 3.0 - Compatible PS 1.2/ 1.6


shacker
 Share

Recommended Posts

Adds a block with last twitter posts, and configure size, hooks, etc. You can configure the account, widget ID, size and hooks.
Features:

  • Cross browser

browsers.png

  • Multilingual 

multilingual.png

  • Multistore

multistore.png
twitstate-prestashop-module.jpg

v2.4-support for twitter api 1.1 - needs reconfiguration module
v2.5-compatible ps 1.6
v2.6-bootstrap+hook home
*now module shows last tweets a week ago

v3.0-new code + footer hook
 

Video

 

 

twitstate.zip v3.0

 

 

please visit our site for latest version and more free modules

 

Edited by shacker (see edit history)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello shacker.

Well this is something that i don`t use yet but maybe in the future i will.
Thanks for sharing again a nice module for free, keep up the great work.

Best regards,

ysco..


Thanks Ysco, But im sure that you use our new module WPRESS. Download and test.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the module..

I've been looking for a twitter one recently and yours seems OK.

I modified the base graphic a little and also modified the style sheet reference from {$base_dir} to {$base_dir_ssl} to get around SSL warning issues.
How would I go about extending the length of the tweet that is displayed?

Thanks again!

15900_0tUBOOYXMCAV8qtQ4E3k_t

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the module..

I've been looking for a twitter one recently and yours seems OK.

I modified the base graphic a little and also modified the style sheet reference from {$base_dir} to {$base_dir_ssl} to get around SSL warning issues.
How would I go about extending the length of the tweet that is displayed?

Thanks again!


Hi. you need to change the css file, and change

width:164px;
height:56px;
overflow:hidden;

This limit the content. If you want a scroll bar, put:

overflow:scroll;

You can send me your backgroun, so i can put the 2 backgrounds for the users choose one.

best regards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PM Sent.

As mine is higher though, it requires some simple mods to the style.css to adjust for the extra height and get the top padding correct.

How would I go about displaying more than one tweet? Separated by say a dashed underline?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PM Sent.

As mine is higher though, it requires some simple mods to the style.css to adjust for the extra height and get the top padding correct.

How would I go about displaying more than one tweet? Separated by say a dashed underline?

Hi. You need to edit the tpl:
curl_setopt($c, CURLOPT_URL, "http://twitter.com/statuses/user_timeline/$va.xml?count=1");

change count 1 to your number of tweets

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hmm.. nope. Changing that to "2" didn't make a difference?
Does it need to be changed anywhere else in that tpl file also?


sorry, try changing this_
curl_setopt($c, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1);

to

curl_setopt($c, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 2);

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found out why I wasn't getting the full status update from twitter...
The latest update was showing fine, but was being cut short with "..." at the end and you had to click the link to go to twitter to read the rest.
The reason it's doing this is because that's whats diplayed in twitter, because I'm posting my twitter updates from facebook and for some reason when doing it this way it must have a character limit.. so to read the whole update, you need to click on the link to twitter, then click on the link in twitter to facebook!

btw, still didn't manage to show more than 1 update using the changes above?!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found out why I wasn't getting the full status update from twitter...
The latest update was showing fine, but was being cut short with "..." at the end and you had to click the link to go to twitter to read the rest.
The reason it's doing this is because that's whats diplayed in twitter, because I'm posting my twitter updates from facebook and for some reason when doing it this way it must have a character limit.. so to read the whole update, you need to click on the link to twitter, then click on the link in twitter to facebook!

btw, still didn't manage to show more than 1 update using the changes above?!

Hi. I update soon the module and view to add these features.

Best regards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mine has a problem showing the inverted commas.
It displays them in html as " instead of ".

This is for status updates posted through facebook to twitter though.. Any ideas how to fix?


Hi.I dont try to update via facebook. I will test and write some news

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

Thanks very much for the module.

You say, "Can be adapted for display on either side"

How do I change the position on the page?

When I installed the module it appears below the center column of my default PrestaShop theme but all the blocks in my right column disappear completely.

Thanks
deepee

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks very much for the module.

You say, "Can be adapted for display on either side"

How do I change the position on the page?

When I installed the module it appears below the center column of my default PrestaShop theme but all the blocks in my right column disappear completely.

Thanks
deepee


you need to go modules -> positions -> transplant a module

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[solved]

I had been trying this out on my local system and could not resolve the alignment problem.

I decided to try it on one of my live sites and it works perfectly!
Very strange...

Anyway, thanks again for a great contribution.
deepee

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[solved]

I had been trying this out on my local system and could not resolve the alignment problem.

I decided to try it on one of my live sites and it works perfectly!
Very strange...

Anyway, thanks again for a great contribution.
deepee


Hi. Strange problem!
Best regards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Hi Shacker

I found a little problem.

I just became aware today that Firefox was displaying this SSL warning when customers were entering the secure areas of my main site:-
Warning: Contains Unauthenticated Content

I browsed the Prestashop Forum and found some SSL threads and tried a couple of suggestions.
Nothing worked.

I then checked my other two sites.
One of them had the same SSL warning and the other one didn't.

I then realised that one of them had the twitter module installed and the other didn't.

When I disabled the twitter module on the other two sites, SSL was back to normal.

I really like the Twitter module. Is there a change I can make to the code to get it to display when SSL is active?

[sOLVED]

Not sure how I missed it but I found the answer to the SSL issue earlier in this thread and applied it to twitstate.tpl
Everything is working fine again.

Thanks
deepee

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Shacker

I found a little problem.

I just became aware today that Firefox was displaying this SSL warning when customers were entering the secure areas of my main site:-
Warning: Contains Unauthenticated Content

I browsed the Prestashop Forum and found some SSL threads and tried a couple of suggestions.
Nothing worked.

I then checked my other two sites.
One of them had the same SSL warning and the other one didn't.

I then realised that one of them had the twitter module installed and the other didn't.

When I disabled the twitter module on the other two sites, SSL was back to normal.

I really like the Twitter module. Is there a change I can make to the code to get it to display when SSL is active?

[sOLVED]

Not sure how I missed it but I found the answer to the SSL issue earlier in this thread and applied it to twitstate.tpl
Everything is working fine again.

Thanks
deepee


Thanks for the reply. sometimes is a file attributes the error.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 4 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Hi Shacker

Today I noticed that the Twitstate module is not showing my tweets.
It was working fine until yesterday on two sites and I haven't changed anything.

Wondering if you were aware of an issue?

Thanks
deepee

26486_iDtSwQpEwuJM135UizZ0_t

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 5 weeks later...

[sOLVED]
To change the character set you have to do the following:
modify: /twitstate.php and /twitstate.php

look for the function "twitter_status"

then replace the following line:

$status = htmlentities($m[1]);

with these 2 lines

$status = htmlentities($m[1], ENT_COMPAT, 'UTF-8');
$status = html_entity_decode($status,ENT_COMPAT,'ISO-8859-2');

Where the ISO-8859-2(also called LATIN 2 encoding) is the one used for Hungarian characters. This is my sites language.
You may need to change that according to your languages encoding.

Hope it helps.

Regards,

drszoke

www.bestleds.hu

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[sOLVED]
To change the character set you have to do the following:
modify: /twitstate.php and /twitstate.php

look for the function "twitter_status"

then replace the following line:

$status = htmlentities($m[1]);

with these 2 lines

$status = htmlentities($m[1], ENT_COMPAT, 'UTF-8');
$status = html_entity_decode($status,ENT_COMPAT,'ISO-8859-2');

Where the ISO-8859-2(also called LATIN 2 encoding) is the one used for Hungarian characters. This is my sites language.
You may need to change that according to your languages encoding.

Hope it helps.

Regards,

drszoke

www.bestleds.hu


Thanks. Add this solution to the file, and some nice graphics. Redownload

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[sOLVED]
To change the character set you have to do the following:
modify: /twitstate.php and /twitstate.php

look for the function "twitter_status"

then replace the following line:

$status = htmlentities($m[1]);

with these 2 lines

$status = htmlentities($m[1], ENT_COMPAT, 'UTF-8');
$status = html_entity_decode($status,ENT_COMPAT,'ISO-8859-2');

Where the ISO-8859-2(also called LATIN 2 encoding) is the one used for Hungarian characters. This is my sites language.
You may need to change that according to your languages encoding.

Hope it helps.

Regards,

drszoke

www.bestleds.hu


Thanks. Add this solution to the file, and some nice graphics. Redownload


Sorry!

Still no swedish characters even if i change the ISO code to ISO-8859-1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Hello Shacker,

i tried to install this modul in the prestashop template, but whereever i place the modul
it is not shown well in the template.
when i place it in the left column, only the twitter modul is visible but not the rest of my page.
when i place it in the right column then it is shown under the center column, but the rest of my modules
in the right column are not visible.

any idea! i would really like to use this twitter modul, i love it!!!
i tried to change the attributs in the style.css, but i didnt work...

sry for the bad english!
nice reagards from switzerland!

daylight

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello Shacker,

i tried to install this modul in the prestashop template, but whereever i place the modul
it is not shown well in the template.
when i place it in the left column, only the twitter modul is visible but not the rest of my page.
when i place it in the right column then it is shown under the center column, but the rest of my modules
in the right column are not visible.

any idea! i would really like to use this twitter modul, i love it!!!
i tried to change the attributs in the style.css, but i didnt work...

sry for the bad english!
nice reagards from switzerland!

daylight

Hi. can you send me your site url and what is your theme name?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 6 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi!

It's me again. ;)

When I test my site under Safari browser, it says to me that it has a problem with json.
The message is this:

"Resource interpreted as script but transferred with MIME type application/json."

Do you know what the problem is?

Thanks a lot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 5 weeks later...

Hi again!!!

Thank you again for your last answers.
Now I have another problem with your module. I'm working under SSL, and your fantastic module gives a few problems. Internet Explorer tell to me that my website have secure and non-secure elements. Seems to be that some element of your module are not secure elements.
Can you help me with this? My costumers can't buy anything through Internet Explorer because of this problem.
Thanks!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi again!!!

Thank you again for your last answers.
Now I have another problem with your module. I'm working under SSL, and your fantastic module gives a few problems. Internet Explorer tell to me that my website have secure and non-secure elements. Seems to be that some element of your module are not secure elements.
Can you help me with this? My costumers can't buy anything through Internet Explorer because of this problem.

Thanks!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yep. dont know what the image was :

#twitter-ticker{
width:198px;
height:300px;
background:url(img/slickbg.png) no-repeat #f5f5f5;<--Delete it.
color:#666666;
display:none;}

im stil looking how to change from standard box to alternate img like twitstate_alternate.png or image2.png :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hola Shacker.
¿Como podría impedir que vuestro modulo cargue la imagen del perfil? Nuestra pagina trabaja con certificado SSL y estoy tratando de optimizarla y una de las cosas que tengo pendientes es el modulo de twitter. Puedes ver el resultado en nuestra pagina.
También me da un poco de guerra el search.json.
Por cierto, muchísimas gracias por el modulo, hoy en día se agradece que alguien haga esta clase de aportaciones de forma altruista.
GRACIAS!!!


====== In English too========

How can I disable the picture of twitter profile? I need to do this because my website works with https.

You can check my website here.


THANKS!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Shaker.
Have you checked the problem under SSL?
I have another question.
In my website, this module always have shown all my tweets, from the first to the last one.
Yesterday I realize that the module only shows the last two tweets I posted.
How can I fix it please? What is the problem?
I would like that the module always shows every tweet I have.
THANKS!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there,

I just installed the module but it seems that it doesn't show older tweets from like 3 days ago . Is this normal?

Thanks


I would really like to see an answer to this one. I can't find anything in any file where I can manipulate the string that's sent to twitter. Am I looking in the wrong place?

I did find this piece of info on the twitter website:


since_id

Returns results with an ID greater than (that is, more recent than) the specified ID. There are limits to the number of Tweets which can be accessed through the API. If the limit of Tweets has occured since the since_id, the since_id will be forced to the oldest ID available.
http://search.twitter.com/search.json?since_id=12345

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Shaker.
Have you checked the problem under SSL?
I have another question.
In my website, this module always have shown all my tweets, from the first to the last one.
Yesterday I realize that the module only shows the last two tweets I posted.
How can I fix it please? What is the problem?
I would like that the module always shows every tweet I have.
THANKS!

hi. i checket ssl, but cant solve this.
For the tweets, i added a option to put the number of tweets that you want to show and solve some css issues

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there,

I just installed the module but it seems that it doesn't show older tweets from like 3 days ago . Is this normal?

Thanks


I would really like to see an answer to this one. I can't find anything in any file where I can manipulate the string that's sent to twitter. Am I looking in the wrong place?

I did find this piece of info on the twitter website:


since_id

Returns results with an ID greater than (that is, more recent than) the specified ID. There are limits to the number of Tweets which can be accessed through the API. If the limit of Tweets has occured since the since_id, the since_id will be forced to the oldest ID available.
http://search.twitter.com/search.json?since_id=12345


what do you want to do?=

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



what do you want to do?=


I don't think anything can be done here. It looks like Twitter controls how far back you can go seeing your Tweets on non-twitter websites. I can't find anything I can change in the module to get older tweets to show. Amirite?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for your reply. I actually had to disable this as it would not take my twitter log in details. It didn't update from "Please configure...". I tried every combinations but it wouldn't take. I tried inputting them into the code (long shot), still no change. Not sure what I'm doing wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • 4 months later...

Thank you for this module! Could you please tell how to make the tweets stay longer than 3 days on the website? I need in stayed for 30 days for example. Where do I need this module to be fixed? Thanks in advise!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...
  • 2 months later...
  • 1 month later...