Why so difficult to import categories/products?

I have been using ecommerce software since 2004. I have never seen an ecommerce program which it is so difficult to import my categories/products.

Interspire has been my goto app for a while now precisely because it makes importing easier than anything! A simple excel file with properly named column id's in the first line, saved in either comma, semicolon or tab delimited and it will ADD categories on the fly during the import, ADD the products and also ADD the images from either a file location within the shopping cart file structure OR from any valid URL address.

I have had MANY years of experience figuring out the little idiosyncrasies to get files to import properly.....yet prestashop takes the cake in being the most difficult of them all.

Sure, I can spend at least $114 or more to be able to simply import my products, but doesn't that defeat the whole purpose in finding an open source, free solution for a shopping cart?

I really like the structure of prestashop, the frontpage layout and the back office structure as well. And I keep coming back with every upgrade to see if they have FINALLY made it simple to import what SHOULD BE the most basic of information for products.

Yet the end result is always the same: Disappointment at the high level of difficulty to simply import categories or products.

I've tried downloading the "sample file" for categories, yet when I open the "csv" file in Microsoft excel it includes ALL of the first line of data in the first column (it should span across multiple columns),

The 2nd and 3rd lines of data also only fill the first column and don't span across the multiple columns as they should.

So I manually fix the issue so the top columns are named:

• ID
  • Active(0/1)
  • Name*
  • Parent Category
  • Root Category (0/1)
  • Description
  • Meta Title
  • Meta Keywords
  • Meta description
  • URL rewritten
  • Image URL