Frontpage search with "-" minus in.

mantobani

Hi friends,

First thanks to all fot the help you gave me.

Im not a programmer, only kind of advanced user.

I have a shop who some of the products have references like "s-01" or "T-01" this is with a "minus" character in the middle. This searches works well on back office, but in fron office it appears the code erases the minus and the first character "s" or "t", giving the search of the numbers only.

I tried to manage the search options, keywords weight, word lenght, re-build index. (no result)

I tried to edit classes/search.php to change some code that i think can delete the miinus character, but no results.

Tried to edit aliases, and rebuid (nothing happens)

I think is possible to add the backoffice search to the front. (I find an older threat with something from presta 1.4 but the code is significally different) 

In the code, the prestashop team let a note who says /* Copied from Drupal search module, except for \x{0}-\x{2f} that has been replaced by \x{0}-\x{2c}\x{2e}-\x{2f} in order to keep the char '-' */ 

I've searched in drupal and prestashop forums, i tried to put some unicode chars in the exceptions list. (no result)

Can someone add some light to this?

Sorry for my bad english. ;)

----

Config:

Linux #1 SMP Wed Feb 12 16:04:42 MSK 2014 x86_64
Apache
PHP: 5.3.3
512M
MySQL: 5.1.67 InnoDB
PrestaShop: 1.5.6.2

• 3 weeks later...

Hi,

did you found solution for your problem? 

I have samoe problem, I need to to search with minus sign, for me in Prestashop 1.5.3.1 it i same result for example: "fx-10" and "fx 10", or "fx-------10", like there is no minus in search word.

Please if you have solution, or somebody, help!

Best regards, Igor

Hi, I'm no expert on preg_replace, but I think this does it. (Not fully sure if I 'allow' too much now, though. See below)

In file: Classes/Search.php (make backup, and best to make an override class and override sanitize function (see dev guide on how to)