How to create a new button/tpl for all product pages

aliocha07

Hello guys,

I'm new to Prestashop (only started 10 days ago), so please bear with me :)

I have to call an external module through a button (or a link) that would be added to my product page(for all products).

1) A php code snipped builds the url, with various variables (like token, product_image, product_image_path etc)

2) then the built url is sent to the module which opens a new page and does the appropriate treatment.

3) I've already coded the php snippet buiding the url and the html code for the button.

And my problem is: how to integrate them?

For the html, I've already saw some suggestions to add the code to the product.tpl of my theme, but I'm reluctant to do so because it would imply some maintenance each time there would be an upgrading of the theme.

For the php, I just don't know where to put it and how to make sure the code will be called by the button.

Furthermore, since I'm calling Prestashop classes in it (like Tools), I'm not sure what to include at the beginning of the file.

Any further help to this beginner would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance.

For the html, I've already saw some suggestions to add the code to the product.tpl of my theme, but I'm reluctant to do so because it would imply some maintenance each time there would be an upgrading of the theme.

there is no other way to insert this button easily. why not this method?

• Like 1

Create a module and register one of these hooks:

http://doc.prestashop.com/display/PS15/Hooks+in+PrestaShop+1.5

• displayProductButtons
  • displayFooterProduct
  • displayLeftColumnProduct
  • displayProductTab

Then you can do it from a module and not a theme. Your module install() method would have something like this:

$this->registerHook('displayProductButtons');

And then would need to add a method to the module like this:

public function hookDisplayProductButtons($params) {
    return "Test";
}