Store CC BINs for all gateways?

vitalmyth

Hi everyone!

First, thank you for this wonderful cart and community, I am loving my first attempts at development for PrestaShop so far.

I am new to web development in general but have been making solid progress doing some customizations for fraud prevention. One of the things I always want to help merchants do is to look at the BIN of a credit card, because this can help prevent a lot of fraud. On some carts that I've developed for, it is very straightforward to get the credit card number, because it is stored in an array, e.g. $order_info['payment_info']. This is the same place it is stored during the checkout process regardless of the payment gateway.

However, it seems that this is not the case for PrestaShop? Is it correct that every payment gateway stores the cc info in its own unique way?

If possible, I would like to know how I can get the BIN information whenever a credit card is used in the store, with any payment gateway. Is it available in something that is accessible by all modules? Or do I have to do something like...

if (selected payment method == 'authorizeaim') {
$bin = substr($this->pcc->card_number, 6);
} elseif (selected payment method == 'stripe') {
$bin = substr($result_json->card->number, 6);
} elseif (selected payment method == 'othergateway') {
$bin = substr($othergateway_card_details['cc_number'], 6);
} ...

The above code is not valid, just demonstrating the process of doing something different to retrieve the BIN depending on which payment gateway is being used. Thanks for any help!