Get products with specific feature values

svierkant

I've made a custom page with a form, so customers can easily search for all products that are meet customer's needs.

It was easy to make that form, based on the features:

//controller
$network = FeatureValue::getFeatureValuesWithLang($this->context->language->id, 6);

//template
<select name="network">
{foreach from=$options.network item=network name=network}
<option value="{$network.id_feature_value}">{$network.value}</option>
{/foreach}
</select>

Now I would like to get all products that have the submitted features. I can't believe there isn't a function that does the trick, but I can't find it. How can I get products with specific tags/features?

(I'm new to PrestaShop, I think I'm looking for a WP_Query equivalent)

• Like 1

Hi svierkant,

just an idea, haven't tested this at all but maybe try something like loading products into controller and then:

{foreach from=$products item=product name=products}
 {if isset($product.features)}
  {foreach from=$product.features item=feature}
	  {if $feature.name == "$network.value"}
		   [show_product]
	  {/if}
   {/foreach}
  {/if}
{/foreach}

what you could also try is the "layered navigation block" module, might be exactly what you are looking for.

good luck :)

Edited by defuzed (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Thanks for your reply!

That's an easy solution*, but is there not a function for that? I expected a more OOP-like solution to the problem, so it's possible to re-use code. It would be nice if I can use the 'standard' product list view (with sorting, paging, etc.).

I don't want to use the layered navigation block, because we want to make a custom wizard. The product selection is not that easy (it's a very complex product), so we want to make it as easy as possible.

* It's better to use the controller to select the products, isn't it?