[Solved] Configuring Vps Server For Prestashop

Hi,

I recently moved from a shared server to a VPS.

Everything seemed to work fine on the shared server, but when moving to the VPS I couldn't access my website anymore. (error 500)

Maybe it's due to the server configuration (Debian 6.0.6). As I'm new to this VPS thing.

So how to best setup a server for use with PrestaShop?

Which apache modules te enable/disable

Which PHP settings

Which PHP extentions

All help appreciated!

Edited by stimpy (see edit history)

This was kinda strange...

When uploading a native prestashop as you suggested, the installation didn't mention any problems with my configuration. So the installation went smoothly.

When uploading my local site to my domain, i got the 500 error. The problem seemed to be the rights of certain folders, which I had to chmod to 777.

I think it's strange that the native prestashop installation didn't mention this?!

I believe the problem was my server configuration. I changed php support (run as apache module) -> php support (run as FastCGI application)

What do you advise on the apache modules and extensions?

thans for helping me out!

Edited by stimpy (see edit history)

• 3 months later...

Hello everyone,

I have an issue I really need help with. I recently installed Prestashop 1.5.4.1 on a VPS server (I am only using 1 domain in this VPS) and have gone ahead since to configure the prestashop. But I have been having constant server errors that has refused to be solved by my very limited knowledge.

The prestashop site is always encountering crashes in both the front office and back office. (usually with a blank white screen). While the CPANEL and WHM function without error.

Usually to recover temporally, I go to php configuration editor in WHM and click on save. The php.ini is rewritten and the prestashop functions fine for a while before I experience another crash sometimes within a minute.