[solved] How To view module smarty variables

shoulders

Hi,

I am not an experienced developer but i was hoping there was an easy solution to this.

I am developing my own 'homefeatured' module and using the code as a base. My problem is that i need to see what is in the variable $products in homefeatured.tpl so i can use this data. However when i turn on smarty debug and i get the console/java page with all the variables displayed it only shows the variables of the homepage (probably just global) this i am guessing is because the homefeatured.tpl has already been parsed so no smarty variables for this module are therefore present when the console/debug page pops up.

Is there a way so i can see the variables from the module, not just the main page.

Thanks

Edited by shoulders (see edit history)

Hello!

What you can do is to add {debug} in the tpl file.

In the backoffice, make sure to select "open the console with a parameter". In that way, smarty debug is on and with the {debug} in the tpl file, it will show you the SMARTY variable available for that tpl.

Hope this will help you.

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

Hi, sorry for my English, I worked that either me, you must edit the file prestashop/config/smarty.config.inc.php

line: 42: and where it says $smarty->debugging, put $smarty->debugging = true;

When finished re-set it to false.

Un saludo,

none of the above works. they all turn debugging on and then prestashop/smarty outputs the values on the page at that time not the modules which have bee pre-parsed.

The solution is as follows:

In the template (.tpl) of the module you are working with, you need to add the following line swapping $var with the variable you want to output to the screen. The variable needs to of been passed to the template with smarty->assign from its corresponding .php file otherwise this will not work.

{$var|print_r}

If the font is the wrong colour and you can't read it try:

<span style="color: white;">{$var|print_r}</span>