Catagory/Attribute Based Search Plugin - Research

Hi all,

I've recently been presented with a problem that I need to find a solution to for a potential client. Before taking on the job I'm doing a little research before taking on the job.

Here is a summary of what I need to do:

The client sells car parts/accessories.

They would like to create a search feature for finding parts or accessories specifically for the users car. So say for example the user is looking for new tires. The idea is that the user would go to a search page. On that page they would select tires then the make > model > and year of their car. This would then narrow down the search to show only tires which would fit that car.

I'm guessing that each car/make would need to be added to the database with attributes for what sizes of tire could fit the car. Then when a product is added it has relevant size attributes associated with it.

I have never done anything like this before so would love some assistance and guidance from anyone who has taken on a similar challenge.

Thank you for any help in advance!

Hi Davidmck,

You should be able to accomplish this by building out PrestaShop's default Layered Navigation module. As long as you create all the proper categories and subcategories and assign the products to them appropriately, as well as build a good attribute database through the Back Office, that should be very helpful for you.

-Mike

Thanks Mike.

Would this allow for an AJAX/jQuery type defining of the search. By that I mean when a user selects the make, the models are populated in the next dropdown and then the same thing for the year after selecting a model?

Apologies if the answer is obvious, I'm pretty fresh to prestashop and still have lots to learn.

Thanks Mike.

Would this allow for an AJAX/jQuery type defining of the search. By that I mean when a user selects the make, the models are populated in the next dropdown and then the same thing for the year after selecting a model?