My first module, "MyModule" won't work: "class missing"

Hello,

I am new at module developing for Prestshop and just started following the official documentation site for module developing (http://doc.prestasho...estaShop+module). I copied the "MyModule" example code to a php file into the modules directory as follows:

/modules/mymodule/mymodule.php

/modules/mymodule/logo.gif

I'm testing on a Prestashop 1.4 fresh install on a XAMPP system under Windows 7 x64. Happens that when I open the Modules tab, an error is triggered displaying this message:

The following module(s) couldn't be loaded:

1. mymodule (parse error in /modules/mymodule/mymodule.php)
  2. mymodule (class missing in /modules/mymodule/mymodule.php)

Which looks pretty unuseful, if I exec the file without the first if and declaring class Module {}, it doesn't throw any error.

I have been searching in Google but nothing useful came from that. Also, it's the example in the docs, it must work, right? :| just in case, this is my code:

<?php
if (!defined('_PS_VERSION_'))
 exit;

class MyModule extends Module
 {
 public function __construct()
{
$this->name = 'mymodule';
$this->tab = 'Test';
$this->version = 1.0;
$this->author = 'Firstname Lastname';
$this->need_instance = 0;

parent::__construct();

$this->displayName = $this->l('My module');
$this->description = $this->l('Description of my module.');
}

public function install()
{
if (parent::install() == false)
  return false;
return true;
}
 }
?>

Any idea? Which is the best course of action as of right now? Can't think of anything, and the error message is not helping tough.

Thanks in advance.

this is likely not very useful for you, but i copied your code above and installed it on my test server (WAMP prestasgop v1.4.6.2) and it installed properly.

what you have done is correct, so i'm not sure how best to help you or advise to give. here are the steps i took to install that module, perhaps the steps you are taking are different?