How to make my local prestashop online?

Hi all,

I'm new at prestashop. I have 1.4.2.5 version of ps on my local machine(wamp server). I've built this one e-shop by prestashop but I have nothing online. Now it's time to make it online. There are many helpful documents how to install prestashop on the web but they are all clean installs (I mean "download ps from prestashop.com->unzip files into your server->go to 'install' directory etc... and you have a clean online store).

How can I upload my locally ready shop to the online server for the first time?

Here are my notes to myself on Moving a localhost prestashop to a webserver.

Hope they help. I use PS 1.4

1. After getting your hosting, use an FTP program (eg dreamweaver or other) to upload the contents of your prestashop folder into the root directory. On the localhost, my files were kept in a folder inside htdocs directory. Perhaps you have a different configuration.

2. Export the SQL database using phpmyadmin from the localhost. You can find phpmyadmin from the MAMP or WAMP welcome screen. You would have used this to create your prestashop database when you installed it.
The settings I used were:
In phpmyadmin
Under Export, use select all, and click on SQL

Add DROP TABLE / VIEW / PROCEDURE / FUNCTION / EVENT
Add IF NOT EXISTS
Add AUTO_INCREMENT value
Enclose table and field names with backquotes
check these options under the structure.

In the field provided, type a filename for your export, click on gzipped option in and click GO at bottom right of screen.
It should land in the downloads folder. Go and locate this file.

3. On your webhosting control panel, go and find the section where they allow you to create a SQL database.
On my hosting it was “Add SQL database” – part of the cPanel.

Create the new database and select all privileges.
Ensure you select a good database name, with a strong password. You wont be needing to access this often so it doesnt have to be memorable.