geno

Whole sale shop with no add to cart or prices until login ! The Easy Way

Hi all, I have been using Prestashop for a while now, but as I am an ASP developer and Don’t know php too well I have not really had anything to contribute until now.

There has been many posts regarding not displaying prices and ordering options until after a user logs in. I have just done it for a client and it is remarkably simple. Thanks of course to the wisdom of Paul C & Ningu.

I have set a standard install of Presta shop with the mod up so you can view it for your self.

Http://www.devtechchina.com/store

user login = demo@demo.com
password = 12345678

You will see that where ever a price or add to cart button should be displayed, it displays "login for prices and ordering options" until a user logs in and then all is displayed normaly.

How I have done it is as follows, and truly it is so simple.

I have added some php code to 4 tpl files. (thanks to Paul C for his php guidence)

Themes
product_list.tpl
product.tpl

Modules
Block special .... blockspecial.tpl
homefeatured .... homefeatured.tpl

the code involved is again very simple, just enclose any price of cart display code with

{if $logged} normal code is here

{else}
Login for Prices & Ordering Options
{/if}

That’s all there is to it. I have added the edited 4 tpl files this post for download, they are from the standard prestashop theme. You could use these or just see where the code edits are.

So now no prices of Add to cart button will display until a user logs in.
(of course if you want to use certain other modules that do display the price you will need to add the code to those also.

Now this presents an other problem, what’s to stop a user just registering automatically and then logging in? Well the fantastic Ningu gave me the solution for this. His great Customer registration module.

see here for the module

http://www.prestashop.com/forums/viewthread/10305/modules/module_customerregistration_management