Is this possible to upgrade PrestaShop version 1.4 to current version?

I am new to prestashop and my project manager give me a task that was to modify a very old project which is based on prestashop version 1.4. Should I upgrade to newest version before I start working on the project? Is this possible to upgrade from 1.4 to current version?

On 12/20/2022 at 8:55 PM, endriu107 said:

I think you must update your store, best way is create new shop on test domain and work on it and then migrate all data to new shop.

Thanks for answering. I also want to migrate theme to current version. Is this possible? Where can I find steps for migrating theme for this one?

On 12/23/2022 at 4:11 AM, John Zaw said:

Thanks for answering. I also want to migrate theme to current version. Is this possible? Where can I find steps for migrating theme for this one?

everything is possible, its a question of $ you are willing to shell out.

In your case best would be all new, but test before if your modules are also able to update.

Edited by Nickz (see edit history)
  • Like 1

On 12/23/2022 at 8:29 PM, endriu107 said:

Structure of theme now is totally different so after upgrade you must create your theme from basic or use default "classic" theme, or buy theme.

Thanks. I am now planning of how to migrate.
1. Themes (I will create from basic which exactly look like with old version since my boss want to keep the old UI in his website.)
2. Data (we have custom fields and tables in old project. I need to figure how to migrate them)
3. modules (to make sure all the modules in old project are still usable in 8.0 version. Or I have to find alternatives that work with 8.0 version).

Is this in the right order to do? and thanks again for your answer.

Edited by John Zaw (see edit history)

1 hour ago, John Zaw said:

Thanks. I am now planning of how to migrate.
1. Themes (I will create from basic which exactly look like with old version since my boss want to keep the old UI in his website.)