Best way to upgrade from 1.7.2.0

joninx

Hi there!

I'm pretty new to prestashop and I've got a site, which I'm starting to manage. The issue is that the versión is quite old, thus it's running prestashop 1.7.2.0. I want to update it to the latest version, which is 1.7.8.0 as far as I know.

I wonder which is the best way to do it. I've heard of 1 click upgrade plugin, but i don't know whether it's the best option.

For the time being, I've setted up a development server with a copy of the production environment (prestashop files and mysql database) and I'm testing a bit, but with no luck (I can expand the issue later). This development environment has been carried out within a dockerized container using an official image of prestashop. The upgrade process followed in here has been using 1 click upgrade from command line.

In other words, I don't know if it's safe to upgrade from 1.7.2.0 to 1.7.8.0, or whether it's better to upgrade step by step using any intermediate version.

Thank you so much!

Edited by joninx (see edit history)

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
On 11/4/2021 at 7:42 AM, ndiaga said:

Hi,

Yes  you have  to  unsinstall  extra  modules  and  use  the  default  theme  first.

I've got several modules installed, plus a custom theme. This theme is fully compatible with the latest version of prestashop. Is it enough to disable third party modules within the BO?

First of all, I'm going to update my theme to the latest version. This, includes the update of all dependant module (of the theme itself).

Afterwards, I'll update Prestashop with 1-Click  upgrade. But, just before this, I think I should disable all no native prestashop modules.

Do you agree with me? 

Thanks!

10 hours ago, joninx said:

Afterwards, I'll update Prestashop with 1-Click  upgrade. But, just before this, I think I should disable all no native prestashop modules.

Prestashop will update the modules that are part of its package. So you don't need to care about that.