Vote to Improve PrestaShop

PrestaShop Forum: Build a free online shop. Count on the Community!

The best place in the world to ask questions about PrestaShop and get advice from our passionate community!

PrestaShop Forum: Build a free online shop. Count on the Community!

Jump to content

 
Photo

Pre-installation settings (PHP 5, htaccess) for certain hosting services


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic
Peter Wilson

    PrestaShop Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 692 posts

Posted 26 June 2008 - 09:38 AM

(Originally posted on February 08, 2008)

Often dedicated or shared servers are activated for PHP 4 but not PHP 5.

To install PrestaShop, PHP 5 must be activated.

The following is a list of procedures of which we are aware:

1&1;

Create an .htaccess file and add this line:

AddType x-mapp-php5 .php


Otherwise, you can try renaming the PHP files to be executed in PHP 5 by changing the extention to ".php".

For URL re-writing, add these lines:

RewriteEngine onRewriteBase /


Free :

Create an .htaccess file and add this line:

php 1


OVH :

Create an .htaccess file and add this line:

SetEnv PHP_VER 5


To deactivate global registers:

SetEnv REGISTER_GLOBALS 0


Warning: Dot not use CHMOD 777, OVH only allow CHMOD 755

GoDaddy :

How to fix PHP5 if you use Godaddy.com:

To Change Your Default PHP Language

# Log in to your Account Manager.
# In the My Products section, select Hosting Account List.
# Next to the hosting account you want to modify, click Open.
# In the Content section of the Hosting Control Center, click the Languages icon.
# Select PHP version you'd like to set as the default.
# Click Continue.
# Verify the listed changes, and then click Update.



Your Language change is submitted. Please allow up to 24 hours for the change to be processed by the hosting server.

Please don't hesitate to post a bug report concerning the tips needed to make PrestaShop run on your hosting service. We will continually add them to this post.
Help PrestaShop, make a donation ![/size]

delibekir

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 July 2008 - 11:06 AM

pffff I don't understand :(

ı have to php4 :(

russty

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 10 August 2008 - 09:21 AM

godaddy win hosting permission issue.

when i installed prestashop, it listed the permissions as being all open and correct, this is not true you have to go to the control panel of godaddy and change them all.... (attached is what needs to be done)

Attached Files


Godaddy solution.......

If you are going to host at godaddy

It only works on linux server.

hvdk

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 12:20 PM

:question: Online servers



Hi,

I use online.net servers.
I've this error : " Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING, expecting T_OLD_FUNCTION or T_FUNCTION or T_VAR or '}' in LanguagesManager.php on line 7"

It seems I don't use the right php version.

I modified the htacces file as free server solution.
But it doesn't work.

Can you help me ?

Thank's a lot.

russty

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 13 August 2008 - 08:14 PM

i have changed over to linux at godaddy and everything works ok, so if you are going to host at godaddy choose linux server!! if you already have a win account it is really easy to change over, they move it for you , you just have to point your dns to the new ip address.
Godaddy solution.......

If you are going to host at godaddy

It only works on linux server.

ezeta

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 August 2008 - 03:30 AM

Thanks... Yesterday I tried many things. Today I created the .htaccess and put the line

AddType x-mapp-php5 .php


Worked in SiteGround.com hosting.
It solved the problem after the installation. Yesterday the only message I got was

There is 1 error

1. employee does not exist, or bad password



After creating the .htaccess I finally could log in in the backend

naoul

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 August 2008 - 12:01 PM

pour HostMonster ? ca marche ?

Same_Joe

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 30 August 2008 - 08:19 PM

How to add .htaccess file ??? from where ?? :(

russty

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 30 August 2008 - 09:17 PM

rename it.

on your server you have a file " htaccess.txt" rename it to ".htaccess"

i found when running on windows server at godaddy it didnt do anything but when i ran it on linux it worked fine.
Godaddy solution.......

If you are going to host at godaddy

It only works on linux server.

Same_Joe

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 30 August 2008 - 09:46 PM

My host isn't godaddy ... now my server PHP ver. is 4 ... If i want to change it to Ver.5 just add this line:
(AddType x-mapp-php5 .php )

Right?

dunweb

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 September 2008 - 01:30 AM

Ok, I posted in another thread on this topic until I seen this thread. I have godaddy and have requested the switch from PHP 4 to 5. It is in the process.

However, I had a question.............why is prestashop only configured to work with php 5 ? should it not be backwards compatible ? or atleast allow for php 4 ??

It seems MANY have had this problem, so why is the code not altered to allow for php 4 ?


Just an idea


Chris

Paul C

    PrestaShop Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1093 posts

Posted 11 September 2008 - 09:13 AM

There are two main reasons I can think of:

1) PHP4 is now unsupported, so is likely to disappear from most hosting packages (the only reason it's still there is a combination of apathy and backwards-compatibility with some really ancient/poorly written code).
2) The majority of the nice functionality offered by PrestaShop is enabled through the use of new features which were introduced in PHP5. Having to get these same features working in PHP4 (duplicating the work of many others) would slow development down to a crawl.

:-)

Paul
Free Prestashop modules and developer resources
Latest Prestashop Developer articles: 1.4 Plugins Revisited – Part 1, 1.4 Plugins Revisited – Part 2
Latest News: Prestashop Module and Theme Developers can now Advertise on eCartService.net

Ehinarr

    Sir

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1204 posts

Posted 02 November 2008 - 12:37 AM

What about installation on www.000webhost.com where I cant pass for the second stage - system compatibility?

skelterweb

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 December 2008 - 11:28 AM

hi, the version on the server i use is php4,
i create the .htaccess with this line:

AddType x-mapp-php5 .php

but instead the white screen, now i've got the following error:

<?php function microtime_float() { list($usec, $sec) = explode(" ", microtime()); return ((float)$usec + (float)$sec); } include(dirname(__FILE__).'/config/config.inc.php'); include(dirname(__FILE__).'/header.php'); $smarty->assign('HOOK_HOME', Module::hookExec('home')); $smarty->display(_PS_THEME_DIR_.'index.tpl'); include(dirname(__FILE__).'/footer.php'); ?>


tongfaafaasai

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 09:48 PM

What about installation on www.000webhost.com where I cant pass for the second stage - system compatibility?



I will have a look and see if I can install on it. Will report later.
Absolutely FREE Web Hosting on 000webhost.com



Free Website Hosting

NOW WITH 1500mb instead of 250MB

AnimeCYC

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:43 PM

If PHP5 isn't installed on the server nothing you add to an .htaccess file will allow PHP5 execution. I'm confused as to why anyone would have two php installations anyways -- does that make sense? It would only cause conflict on the server. If anything, have PHP5 installed on the server. Most hosts do this for free. If you are on a dedicated server call your tech support and have them install it for you (usually costs money.) By now PHP4 is very outdated compared to PHP5, but even with the upgrade PHP5 scales nicely for scripts written for PHP4 so upgrading the server itself is a much better solution. If I misread the thread my bad lol

tongfaafaasai

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 17 January 2009 - 03:04 AM

What about installation on www.000webhost.com where I cant pass for the second stage - system compatibility?



i installed on 000webhost.com fine and here is the sample of the site www.tongfaafaasai.com
Absolutely FREE Web Hosting on 000webhost.com



Free Website Hosting

NOW WITH 1500mb instead of 250MB

cleasterwood

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 February 2009 - 07:21 PM

i installed on 000webhost.com fine


I installed in on their sister host Hosting 24, but my uploads take too long & the server times out. I can only get my Max Execution raised to 300 seconds. Not nearly enough time for the large 200MB they allow for upload sizes. I don't want to migrate to a new host, but it looks as if I'll have to anyway. :(
The .htacess work around works ok, if my file is under 20 MB.

Kangaroo

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 12:51 AM

i have changed over to linux at godaddy and everything works ok, so if you are going to host at godaddy choose linux server!! if you already have a win account it is really easy to change over, they move it for you , you just have to point your dns to the new ip address.



@russty You're AWESOME!!! Thank you for the advices.

Hadiahku

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 February 2009 - 05:53 AM

Hi,

I need help with installing prestashop at hostgator.com.
ive already uploaded the files and when i went to the install site address,
this error message came up, "
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /home/sugih/public_html/hadiahku/shop/install/index.php on line 97"

Can i get some advice on how to get this up and running.
Thanks.

Sugih
LIVE LOVE LIFE !




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users